GOP lawmaker nominates Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

trumpdonald ny 012523 ap

Republican lawmaker Claudia Tenney (R-N.Y.) nominated former President Trump for the Nobel Peace Prize, citing the brokerage of the Abraham Accords. 

Tenney’s nomination came just a few days after three Army soldiers were killed in a suicide drone attack in Jordan. In the nominating statement, Tenney touted Trump’s Abraham Accords, the treaty that formally normalized the relations between Israel, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates (UAE). 

“Donald Trump was instrumental in facilitating the first new peace agreements in the Middle East in almost 30 years,” Tenney said in the statement on Tuesday. “For decades, bureaucrats, foreign policy ‘professionals’, and international organizations insisted that additional Middle East peace agreements were impossible without a resolution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. President Trump proved that to be false.”

Trump, the current GOP front-runner, has been nominated for the prize multiple times. The former president was nominated in 2022 by a Norwegian official for brokering relations between UAE and Israel. He also received a nomination from four Australian law professors. 

“The valiant efforts by President Trump in creating the Abraham Accords were unprecedented and continue to go unrecognized by the Nobel Peace Prize Committee, underscoring the need for his nomination today,” Tenney said in the statement. 

Tenney also criticized President Biden for what the lawmaker says is the president’s “weak” leadership that is posing a danger to the country.  

“Now more than ever, when Joe Biden’s weak leadership on the international stage is threatening our country’s safety and security, we must recognize Trump for his strong leadership and his efforts to achieve world peace,” Tenney said. “I am honored to nominate former President Donald Trump today and am eager for him to receive the recognition he deserves.”

Professors, members of national governments and assemblies are able to make submissions for the prize, which will be announced this year in October. 

Fox News Digital first obtained the statement. 

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top